21 Taras Thangka
21 Taras Thangka
21 Taras Thangka
21 Taras Thangka
21 Taras Thangka
21 Taras Thangka
21 Taras Thangka
21 Taras Thangka
21 Taras Thangka
21 Taras Thangka
21 Taras Thangka
21 Taras Thangka

21 Taras Thangka


SKU: HRSH-15557 Categories: , ,


21 Taras Thangka is handpainted by Master Thangka Artist in Nepal. Green Tara is in the center of the Thangka with other Taras.

The 21 forms of Tara are mentioned in the Tara tantra, along with each of their benefits.  Tara is the embodiment of the perfected feminine essence, the mother of compassion, mercy, and forgiveness.

Tara has 21 fundamental emanations according to the mantra of the Buddha Samantabhadra called “Twenty-One Praises of Tara”.

Each form of the mother of all Buddhas has a specific color and serves a specific function.

However, there are different styles and designs of tangka paintings that represent the 21 manifestations of Tara based on distinct lineages and practices, in which forms, colors, ritual objects, and even names or functions can vary.

The most common thangka paintings of the Twenty-one Taras present Green Tara in the center of the composition but in some thangkas, the central position can be occupied by Red Tara or White Tara. The lineages that refer to the “21 Tara systems” are Suryagupta (the oldest system), Atisha (the most common), Longchen Nyingtig, Chogyur Lingpa, and Sadhana-samucchaya traditions. However, there are other lineages that present different configurations and practices.

Green is a symbol of action, achievement, and considered the primary color of Tara as her green manifestation is always depicted in the center of this thangka.

White represents the appeasing function to overcome sickness and obstacles in life and during the Dharma practice.

Yellow represents the activity of increasing the positive qualities and achieve long and peaceful life, happiness, and success in the practice.

Red is a symbol of power and connected to the ability to overcome external forces that cannot be faced through the first two functions.

Black or Blue represents the forceful and wrathful functions and methods to accomplish enlightened purposes that cannot be accomplished through other means.

By singing the praise of the 21 Taras and meditating to her different emanations the practitioner distance himself from fear, fight all the negative feelings that burden his heart, and ultimately reach enlightenment.

The form of 21 Taras are:

  1. Nyurma Pamo
  2. Loter Yangchenma
  3. Sonam Tobche
  4. Tsugtor Namgyalma
  5. Wangdu Rigje Lhamo
  6. Jigje Chenmo
  7. Zhengyi Mithumba
  8. Zhengyi Migyalma
  9. Sengdeng Nagchi
  10. Jigten Sumle Gyalma
  11. Phagma Norter Drolma
  12. Tashi Donje
  13. Yulle Gyalma
  14. Thronyer Chen
  15. Rabzhima
  16. Rigngag Tobjom
  17. Pagme Nonma
  18. Maja Chenmo
  19. Dugkarmo
  20.  Rito Loma Jonma
  21. Lhamo Ozer Chenma



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “21 Taras Thangka”