Yamantaka Thangka Painting

Yamantaka Thangka Painting


Yamantaka is the god of death. Yamantaka is also called Vajrabhairava, is one of the eight Dharmapalas, or Dharma Protectors.


Yamantaka is the god of death. Yamantaka is also called Vajrabhairava, is one of the eight Dharmapalas, or Dharma Protectors, who are sworn to defend the Buddha’s teachings for all time.

He is a buffalo-headed meditational deity of manifestation of the Bodhisattva Manjushri, a deity of Highest Yoga Tantra. and a dharma protector.

Vajrabhairava is one of the principal three meditational deities of the Gelug school. He is also one of the main yidams in the Sakya school where he comes in a variety of appearances.

In both schools, Vajrabhairava is seen as the wrathful manifestation of Manjushri, the Buddha of wisdom.

It is said that in the form of Yamantaka, Manjushri defeated the demon king Yama, the Lord of Death.

Yamantaka symbolizes the victory of wisdom over death through the direct realization of the ultimate nature of reality.

Yama represents the end of one cycle & the beginning of another. The deity Yama is wrathful to try to encourage you not to return to a previous cycle or habit.

He is there to help you break the cyclical nature of existence Samsara so that you can access the higher realm of human consciousness.

He is fed up with the attachment of mankind to the Five negative afflictions if pushed he has the authority to send you at your physical death to a place of ice & fire.

Additional information

Dimensions 57 × 74 cm


Ask a question


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Yamantaka Thangka Painting”

Discover more about "God of Death"

Yamantaka is the god of death, king of ancestors, and final judge on the destination of souls. He is also known as the ‘Restrainer’, Pretaraja or ‘King of Ghosts’, Dharmaraja or ‘King of Justice’,

About 8 Auspicious Symbols in Buddhism – Ashtamangala

The eight are called as in and bkra-shis rtags-brgyad in . These are the most well-known group of and are traditionally listed in the order of: A A A A A right-spiraling white An or ‘’ A A 8 Auspicious of Early Originally the eight auspicious .

Detail Walk Into The Wheel of Life

A very unique of its kind, Bhavachakra or is seen almost everywhere when you walk inside any  or . It is also one of the powerful for . It is often used by the practitioners of to understand the . is a wonderful representation of Buddhism and the . The is supported by the wrathful deity , . .

Expressing the words of truth

In order to express the power of their lineage and the merit which enabled them to enter the , the Vaira master stands before the ringing the bell and uttering the words of truth– In this section the disciples pass through the curtain permits them now to see the Mandala. In order to identify the lineage or family of Ones Gone Thus by which disciples may achieve Buddhahood through the practice of Kalachakra, they cast a .

Avalokitesvara and its forms

Among the 108 of Lokeswara  is one who refuses to accept since he considers such acceptance is selfish in view of the of the great majority of the people who have not yet attained the stage. His sacrifice symbolizes infinite (Karuna), sharing of mankind’s misery, willingness to help those in distress. He holds in his hand the indestructible jewel. He is and protector from danger. So his ” .
Buy Online Shakyamuni Buddha Thangka

Categories of Mandala

, a word that means a and represents the wholeness. are recognized generally by concentric circles and probably many other geometric figures. are the most admired and discussed symbol in . These are the geometric designs intended to symbolize the , and the link is made to their use in and practices. The word mandala has two parts. The root word is Manda and -la is a suffix .