Category Archives: Symbols

The healing power and sacred geometry of mandalas

The word Mandala appears in Sanskrit texts which mean a collection of mantras and hymns. Including Buddhism, the shapes and symbols used in the mandalas are the core constituents of many ancient cultures around the world. Mandala represents any form of geometric structure and symbols that represents cosmic energy in the physical world. The appearance of the mandala is believed to be very sacred which reminds the viewer of serenity and sanctity in the .

Buddha Mudras, Gestures and Postures

A mudra is a gesture made by the hand and fingers to symbolize the teachings of Hinduism and Buddhism. Buddha mudras are gestures of their spirits that call the deities during worship or during moments when they meditate. Buddha Mudras demonstrate that the non-verbal form of communication is often more effective than the spoken one. The hand and fingers of Buddha images or even meditating monks are posed to symbolize a lot of things .

Buddhist Ritual Items and Symbols

Buddhism is one of the most established world religions that history has ever seen. Over the great expanse of time, it has quietly established its own set of symbolisms – symbols that are as old as time itself. This is only but natural with all the religions of the civilized world. And as such, many of these Buddhist religious symbols are considered recognizable icons of Buddhist Art and Tibetan Art. The more prominent symbols .

The Dharma Wheel

The Dharma Wheel Around the globe, dharma wheel is one of the oldest symbols of Buddhism. In Sanskrit, Dharma Wheel is also called as Dharma chakra. The cross is used to represents Christianity or a Star of David represents Judaism as same way the Dharma Chakra is used to represent the Buddhism. Dharma Chakra is also one of the Eight Auspicious Symbols of Buddhism. Before the introduction of Buddha images, the wheel was a .

What Tattoo Artists say about Tibetan Thangka Art?

The art of Thangka painting and the tattoo seems to be parallel. As a thangka painting tells a thousand-year-old story, so does the tattoo. Both have pretty artistic expression. These days most of the tattoo artists have been referring Thangka paintings to make tattoos so that they might give some life lessons to the viewers. Here’s an article by Heidi Minx that portrays the connection between Thangka and tattoo, and what other young artists have to say .

How to Buy a Mandala?

Few Questions Before Buying Before buying a mandala, one must have a brief knowledge of: How must a mandala painting be? What are the key characteristics and components of a mandala? What are the different types of mandala paintings and significance of each one of them? What is your purpose for buying mandala? Firstly, getting familiar with the different shapes used in the mandalas are important. There is a different kind of mandala available .


Dhanusha also called Pinaka or Shiva Dhanush is the bow of Lord Shiva. It is generally carried in the left hand. Lord Shiva uses Dhanusha for the destruction of the “Pralaya.” There is an epic story behind the Dhanusa. As mentioned in Ramayana, Lord Vishwakarma (The principal architect of the universe) crafted two divine Dhanush. The first one was named “Sharanga” and was given to  Lord Vishnu. The second one was named “Pinaka” and .

CHAKRAS | The Healing Power Within Us

The Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel or a circle. It is the centre of the energy, the focal point from where energy flows. It is believed to be the life force or prana that constantly moves inside us. History The earliest appearance of the Charkra is found in Vedic literature, in the Hindu scripture. Not to get confused with energy centres, it first appeared as Chakravartin or the king who “turns the wheel .

Before painting a mandala

Seeing a mandala painting is so soothing and healing for our mind and body. Have you ever realized painting a mandala can be how much calming? We already know that visualizing and concentrating on the mandala painting can give us immense focus and centralization. Now it’s time to make our own mandala painting and see how much meditative it is. Making mandala itself is an art of meditation. Shapes and symbols First of all, you .

Namaskar Mudra | It’s meaning and significance

The word ‘Namaskar’ is derived from the Sanskrit root word “namaha” meaning paying obeisance (Namaskar) or salutation. It is believed to be started from India as a gesture to respect elders, salute gods, goddesses, Rishis, and so on. There are different kind of mudras that heal different parts of our body. Steps to do Namaste Muudra 1.Keep your hand on chest in namaste mudra. 2.Fingertips of both hands should touch respective fingers. 3.Certain hollow space is .