Development Of Eight fold Path In The Disciple

CONFIDENCE AND RIGHT-MINDEDNESS Suppose a householder, or his son, or someone reborn in any family, hears the law; and after hearing the law he is filled with confidence in the Perfect One. And filled with this confidence, he thinks: “Full of hindrances is household life, a refuse heap; but pilgrim life is like the open air. Not easy is it, when one lives at home, to fulfill in all points the rules of the .


After reading THE BUDDHA’S WAY OF VIRTUE we will go through “The Twin Truths“. For the proper understanding of Buddhism, these opening stanzas are all-important. One of the Buddha’s key-thoughts was what modern psychologists call the “law of apperception”: the value of things depends upon our attitude to them. Part of Gautama‘s work of reform was a “transvaluation of values,” a shifting of emphasis; and, like the Stoics, he taught the indifference of the .

The Buddha’s Way of Virtue

Introduction The Dhammapada was accepted at the Council of Asoka in 240 B.C. as a collection of the sayings of Gautama, yet it was not put into writing until some generations had passed, and probably contains accretions of later date. However that may be, there is no doubt that it breathes the very spirit of the Teacher, and it has always been used in Buddhist lands as a handbook of “devotion” or meditation, in .

All About Green Tara

Mother Tara sincerely and with strong faith, she will protect us from all obstacles and fulfill all our wishes. Since she is a wisdom Buddha, and since she is a manifestation of the completely purified wind element, Tara is able to help us very quickly. Tara is our common mother, our Holy Mother. When we are young we turn to our worldly mother for help. She protects us from immediate dangers, provides us with .

Eighth Step – Right Concentration

What is Right Concentration? Fixing the mind to a single object (“One-pointedness of mind”): this is concentration. The four Fundamentals of Attentiveness (seventh step): these are the objects of concentration. The four Great Efforts (sixth step): these are the requisites for concentration. The practicing, developing and cultivating of these things: this is the “Development” of concentration. Right Concentration has two degrees of development: “Neighborhood-Concentration,” which approaches the first trance, without however attaining it;  “Attainment .

Seventh Step – Right Attentiveness

What is Right Attentiveness? The only way that leads to the attainment of purity, to the overcoming of sorrow and lamentation, to the end of pain and grief, to the entering upon the right path and the realization of Nirvana, is the “Four Fundamentals of Attentiveness.” And which are these four? In them, the disciple dwells in contemplation of the Body, in contemplation of Feeling, in contemplation of the Mind, in contemplation of the .

Sixth Step – Right Effort

What is Right Effort? There are Four Great Efforts: the effort to avoid, the effort to overcome, the effort to develop, and the effort to maintain. What is the effort to avoid? There, the disciple incites his mind to avoid the arising of evil, demeritorious things that have not yet arisen; and he strives, puts forth his energy, strains his mind and struggles. Thus, when he perceives a form with the eye, a sound .

Fifth Step – Right Living

Right Living is one of the EightFold paths. What is Right Living? When the noble disciple, avoiding a wrong way of living gets his livelihood by a right way of living this is called Right Living. Now, right living, let me tell you, is of two kinds: When the noble disciple, avoiding wrong living, gets his livelihood by a right way of living-this is called the “Mundane Right Living,” which yields worldly fruits and brings good .

Fourth Step – Right Action

After the First Step – Right Understanding, the second step Right Mindedness the Third Step – Right Speech we will go through Fourth Step called Right Action. What is called Right Action? It is abstaining from killing; abstaining from stealing; abstaining from unlawful sexual intercourse. There, someone avoids the killing of living beings and abstains from it. Without stick or sword, conscientious, full of sympathy, he is anxious for the welfare of all living beings. .

Third Step – Right Speech

After the First Step – Right Understanding and the second step called a Right Mindedness we will go through Third Step – Right Speech. What is Right Speech? Right speech is abstaining from following: Lying Tale-bearing Harsh language vain talk There, someone avoids lying and abstains from it. He speaks the truth, is devoted to the truth, reliable, worthy of confidence, is not a deceiver of men. Being at a meeting, or amongst people, or in the .