The Father of Tantras – Vajradhara

Vajradhara Thangka

The Father of Tantras – Vajradhara

According to the and schools of , is also known as the ultimate Primordial or . Vajradhara displaced who remains the Primordial Buddha in the or School and the school. However, the two are metaphysically equivalent.

Achieving the state of Vajradhara is synonymous with complete realization. According to Kagyu Vajradhara, the primordial buddha is also known as the Darmakaya buddha. Depicted as dark blue in color, expressing the quintessence of itself and representing the essence of the historical Buddha’s realization of .

Vajradhara is thought to be the supreme essence of all  Buddhas. It is the of Sakyamuni’s form which is called Vajradhara. are texting specific to and are believed to have been originally taught by the Tantric form of Sakyamuni called Vajradhara.

He has also known the expression of Buddhahood itself in both single and Yabyum form. He is considered to be the prime Buddha of the Father tantras such as Guhyasamaja, .

Gahyasamaja Tantra

is one of the most important of . In , it was classified as a or Tantra. In , it is considered an Unexcelled .

It develops traditions found in earlier scriptures such as the Compendium of Reali but is focused to a greater extent on the antinomian aspects characteristic of the later . and are also considered the Compendium of Reality to be a in relation to theGuhyasamaja Tantra.

Yamantaka Tantra

Yamantaka is the ferocious spectacle of which is the supreme embodiment of Buddha’s . As a fully Buddha, he to destroy our and dualistic conventions, the cause of all our . He arises with the form of a blue-black with 9 ferocious faces out of which the main one is a bull’s head, 34 strong hands holding various sharp implements and 16 legs to carry the short and stout body.

Behold the  Yamantaka is a frightful experience as his ferocious is beyond any wrathful Buddhas, demons, and spirits put together. He is the ultimate destroyer of the Lord of Death.

Five wisdom of Vajradhara

From the primordial Vajradhara were manifested the Five Wisdom Buddhas () which are listed below:


family is one of the five buddha families and is linked to the transmutation of or aggression. The family belongs to  Akshobhya, , and . There are 5 buddha families two are associated with the Dorje.

Akshobhya is the Vajra Family buddha, the primordial Buddha associated with Vijnana sometimes described as or aether ether in his primordial form. Vajradhara thunderbolt bearer and he is also known as two-armed and one-faced and sits in the solidly fixed Vajraparyanka pose with his left hand resting on his lap face up.


Amoghasiddhi is one of the Five Wisdom Buddhas of the tradition of . He is also associated with the accomplishment of the and of the destruction of the poison of envy. He has considered the family of whose family symbol is the Double vajra thunderbolt.


who is also known as “Amitabha” means “limitless light” and “Amitayus means “limitless life”.  Amitabha is the Buddha of the Western Land of Ultimate Bliss. The three Pureland : The Larger Sutra on Amitabha, The Smaller Sutra on Amitabha, and the of Amitabha Buddha Sutra.

Countless eons ago, Bhikshu Treasury made 48 inconceivable before Lokesvaraja Buddha. He vowed that his Buddhaland will be the most blissful and pure that all who are born there will advance irreversibly to Buddhahood. Bhikshu Dharma Treasury is now Amitabha Buddha.


Ratnasambhava Buddha who is a principal buddha within representing the qualities of enlightenment and residing in the southern quarter of a . Ratnasambhava is primarily associated with Vajrayana Buddhism and originates in the Tantric Literature of the Yoga and classes. He is most commonly depicted in the set of the Five Symbolic Buddhas.


Vairocana is one of the created by Adhi Buddha. In the above mentioned Buddhism, the Buddha is seen as the embodiment of the concept of Emptiness. While in Mahayana and Vajrayana Buddhism, Vairocana is considered a Primordial Buddha and is established at the center. Vairocana is presented in different sutras.

Vajradhara and Sanabtabhadra

Vajradhara and the Wisdom Buddhas are often subjects of a mandala. Vajradhara and Samantabhadra are cognate in cosmology with different names, attributes, appearances, and . Both are Buddhas, that are primordial Buddhas, where Samantabhadra is unadorned, which is depicted without any attributes.

Vajradhara is often adorned and bears attributes which are generally the iconographic representation of a Buddha. Both Vajradhara and Samantabhadra are generally depicted in unity with their respective consorts and are primordial buddhas, embodying void and ultimate emptiness.

Trikaya doctrine

doctrine who is important both on the nature of reality and what a Buddha is. By the 4th century CE, the Trikaya Doctrine had assumed the form.

Briefly, the doctrine says that a Buddha has three kayas or bodies the or created body which manifests in and space, the Sambhogakaya or body of mutual enjoyment which is an archetypal manifestation, and the Dharmakaya or reality body which embodies the very principle of enlightenment and knows no limits or boundaries.

In the view of , the is the continuity that links the Trikaya. The Trikaya, as a triune, is symbolized by the .

Related posts