Buddha Mandala
Dharma, Mandala

Top 5 Buddha Mandalas – For Meditation & Tantric Practice

is a piece of . In the and , art often takes as a form.

In , mandala or is known as a spiritual and in and , that represents the .

Mandala is taken as and also as an of fully realized beings or deities.

Buddha Mandala with 5 Dhayni Buddhas

This painting shows the life of BuddhaBuddha mandala is an art either made out of sand or a painting. It is used as a visual aid for and healing purposes. It is used in meditation halls too. In the painting, there are many smaller circles inside a big circle. In the radial lines of the circle, we can see tiny pictures of Buddha. Above all, the painting tries to reveal the Buddha in different .

Five mandala are known as the five : transcendent beings manifestations of the five virtues of the primordial Buddha positioned here at the center of the Mandala.

The other are , , and .

Buddha Mandala and Meditation

This mandala is also called five circles mandala and it is designed to facilitate . Each circle surrounding the Buddhas is the symbol of protection from . The ring of inside the circle symbolizes and spiritual intention that is necessary to practice meditation. Inside ring, it is depicted as a circle of flames, representation of the of that destroys and enables the practitioner to enter the mandala.


Buddha Nirvana Mandala

 is the earliest and most common term used to describe the goal of the . The literal meaning is “blowing out” or “quenching”.

It is the ultimate in Buddhism and marks the soteriological release from rebirths in .

Nirvana is part of the Third Truth on “” in the , and the summum bonum destination of the .

Click here to buy Buddha Nirvana mandala.

Nirvana Mandala

Shakyamuni Buddha mandala

The  Buddha is at the heart of the mandala surrounded by . There are two standing on each side of him and 16 surround him sitting on the pink petals. Additionally, on the outside of the square, the four guardian guard the four cardinal directions. And outermost part of the mandala is surrounded by , and other .

This sacred land inside the circle is pure and kept separate from the vicissitudes of samsara. As a result, devotees can only enter the diagram through spiritual realization. In the midst of the Buddha, land Shakyamuni sits in full lotus pose expressing Bhumisparsha .

Therefore, his right hand is stretched over his right leg and it is lightly touching the . As such, Shakyamuni calls the goddess to witness his vanquishment of the . Therefore, we can assume this Mandala depicts the origin of Buddhism in our .

Additionally, Shakyamuni Buddha holds the meditational alms in the palm of his left hand. Inside the bowl are the three nectars for personal salvation. These three nectars annihilate the , , and ignorance.



Shakyamuni Buddha Mandala with Green Tara, Manjushri, Mahakala

In the center of the mandala, we can see Shakyamuni Buddha seating on the lotus. He is protected by the outer . Buddha is surrounded by 5 Buddhist deities. They are , , , Mahakala ad

The mandala is a series of circles each representing the obstacles and that we must pass beyond for . This circle of rainbow fire symbolizes both knowledge and .

Mediation and Shakyamuni Buddha

The multi-dimensional of the mandala is conducive to meditation, establishing a sacred within, so to achieving a relaxed state of focussed . A popular method of mandala meditation is to visualize oneself as the central deity with all their associated qualities, transferring ones spiritual into the heart of the mandala.


Shakyamuni Buddha with White   and Amitabha

This mandala is the representation of Shakyamuni Buddha group of compassionate deities, known as the three long-life deities – Amitabha, The Buddha of  is in the center with White Tara to the left and Namgyalma to the right.

The are the symbol of purity, an abstract understanding of the power of to achieve by recognizing then moving beyond negative which are illusions of ignorance and an . They mostly represented in mandalas used for meditation practice.

They are known as the five Tathagata. The other Dhyani Buddhas are Amoghasiddhi, Amitabha, Akshobhya and Ratnasambhava.

This mandala is also called five circles mandala and it is designed to facilitate meditation. Each circle surrounding the Buddhas is the symbol of protection from external interferences. The ring of lotus petals inside the circle symbolizes purity and spiritual intention that is necessary to practice meditation.

The Shakyamuni Buddha is at the heart of the mandala as it rises majestically from the lotus blossoms in the lake scene to radiantly against the bright blue sky behind.

Inside the mandala beyond the ring of fire and through the  decorated with , we enter the ‘’, here The Buddha resides in meditation with his two principal disciples,  and , at this side.




Leave a Reply

About sadiksha

Namaste! I am a Nepali Art Dealer specialized in Mandala and Thangka paintings. I love to write articles about the monastic culture of the Himalayas.

Related posts

Tea House: Interviews, Commentary, Reviews, Poetry
Doug's Dharma
Buddhistdoor Global (BDG)
More News